Even though the illusion to change the world gives you enough motivation to work late at nights and early in the mornings, after days and some ups and downs, there are moments when it becomes harder to concrete your ideas, to communicate your passion and even to believe in yourself. That is why I would like to share my 1-2-3 experiences working on social entrepreneurship projects.

1 is for the one person that inspired me during this process: Anastasia Miron. I met Anastasia on a visit to the new HUB in Rome (http://www.hubroma.net/ ). A HUB (http://www.the-hub.net/) consists basically in a space with all the tools and trimmings needed to grow and develop innovative ventures for the world that combines a social entrepreneur’s community, innovation lab and business incubator. In my opinion it is an amazing environment to work. During the visit, it happened that Anastasia was visiting the HUB so she took some time to explain us about her life, social business and experience. She is part of a group of entrepreneurs that created the social business GlobeIn (http://globein.com/) which consists in helping artisans from all around the world to sell their articles via internet. I was impressed by all the things she has achieved so far; travelling around the world, speaking 6 languages, starting her project, but most of all what I learned from her is to keep the project simple, that is not about the idea but the impact that it might have and the base of that is the heart and passion you put in your project.

2 were the lessons I learned about fundraising. Scott Sherman, from the Transformative Action Institute (http://www.transformativeaction.org/about/our-team/), made me realized two important aspects about fundraising, first that individuals represent about 76% of the money given out to charity each year in the USA  which made me realized how we usually think as sponsors of our projects only big corporations when actually is the individual donation or individual investment the one that keeps organizations going. And secondly he opened my eyes to all the possible ways you can fund a social entrepreneurship program. Just to get an idea, here are some: Foundations, Individuals, Corporations, Government Grants, House Parties, Door-to-Door canvassing, Web donations, In-kind donations, workshops or products.

And finally 3 are the main points I have been struggling with my project; writing the statement of need (communicate the urgency of the problems I´m attacking), metrics (measurement of behavior, performance & attitudes) and finally, the elevator pitch (summarize my project in 30 seconds). Now that my final blueprint for social change delivery is getting closer, I realized that communicating ideas is a hard task, especially when you need to convince people to join your cause and then explaining how you will measure that it succeeded. And finally, when you finally get to do the first two, it comes in my opinion the hardest part of all the Process of Social Entrepreneurship ( As David Bornsteins calls it) which is reducing your vision, research, action plan, story and passion in 30 seconds or in some lines. How? Hopefully, I will let you know later.

 

