mexican women

“The strength of a woman is not measured by the impact that all her hardships in life have had on her; but the strength of a woman is measured by the extent of her refusal to allow those hardships to dictate her and who she becomes.”  -C.JoyBell C.

In the world it is said that there are more women than men, despite the true, I think that all women have the power to make any change they want, all we need is to believe it, sometimes people will say that I am a dreamer but I know that I am not the only one who thinks that changes can be done. There will always be that people who take courage and fight for they dreams of having a better place, in this case a better place for women.

The program Woman as a Change Agents gives us those opportunities of join us and work together for that important objective of helping other women like us. This program is a place where we can encourages ourselves, talking about important issues around the world, and most important recognize that we have the power to do everything we want to make a change.

In México, women are often very discriminated in the labor life, actually that is one of the principal reasons why I want to prepare myself in this program. Almost two years ago I started working half a time and every time I was feeling that it would take a long time to grow in that company, all the chiefs were men, all the women have the lower places. And not only that, the language they use is other, very rude and inconvenient for a job.

However, I have to be honest and when I start reading more and more about the women in my country I realized that Mexico´s women suffer mainly from violence, the modern world have unfortunately not arrive to all the parts of the country, where there is still a lot of poverty and places where the information is not given. In 2011 a survey from INEGI (Instituto Nacional de Estadística y Geografía) showed that from the total of women, about 46.1% (15 years or more) suffer from some kind of violence induced by the couple. (INEGI, 2012) It is sad for me and actually worrying to read this numbers, sometimes I feel powerless that there are a lot of women that are abused in many ways: emotional, physical, sexual and in an economic way and that there is still a lot to do.

women-violence_26

On the other hand, I believe that in the world discrimination could be the most important issue for women. Why discrimination? Because in my opinion this little world involves it all, it refers to the way a person treats other, and it involves all the values that are important not to miss like respect, tolerance and love. It is true that sometimes religion and traditions are a big barrier to make people understand the difference, and not only this, family can also be very helpless.

For all the above I truly compromise in doing as much as possible I can to make a difference in this world, the place we call home.  Why not try to make it like that for those who doesn´t know it can be that way?

Here I´m leaving a video for Violence in Mexico : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4n7P5SrKi1o

And a pdf from INEGI México very interesting (spanish): http://www.inegi.org.mx/prod_serv/contenidos/espanol/bvinegi/productos/estudios/sociodemografico/mujeresrural/muj_viol.pdf

